Welcome to the Coimbra Group



In the light of the result of the UK referendum on membership of the European Union, the Coimbra Group, as a pan-European university network with members both within and beyond the current borders of the EU, wishes to express its continuing commitment to strengthening European and international cooperation in higher education and research and its concern that the decision may have a negative impact for that goal.

The result of the referendum opens a period of great uncertainty and will undoubtedly have an impact on universities in the UK. At this difficult time, the Coimbra Group would like to underline its full support for our UK members and colleagues at the Universities of Bristol, Edinburgh and, since our General Assembly earlier this month, Durham. We shall work closely with them and other UK partners to mitigate any possible negative impact of the decision, in the spirit of the pursuit of scholarly collaboration, international and global engagement, in the forging of well-educated, critically-aware global citizens for the future - academic values which transcend national and supranational borders.

Founded in 1985 and formally constituted by Charter in 1987, the Coimbra Group is an association of long-established European multidisciplinary universities of high international standard. The Coimbra Group is committed to creating special academic and cultural ties in order to promote, for the benefit of its members, internationalisation, academic collaboration, excellence in learning and research, and service to society. It is also the purpose of the Group to influence European educational policy and to develop best practice through mutual exchange of experience.

The 2017 Coimbra Group Annual Conference will take place in Edinburgh, 7-9 June, hosted by the University of Edinburgh.


Coimbra Group at a glance Mission Statement, Aims, and Supporting Internal StructuresGoverning BodiesGeneral Assembly History Member universities of the Coimbra GroupStatutes (French only)Foundation Charter 1987