Coimbra Group 3-Minute-Thesis competition



The Coimbra Group is holding its first 3-Minute-Thesis (3MT) competition this year.

Developed by The University of Queensland (UQ), the competition consists of effectively explain one’s research in three minutes, in a language appropriate to a non-specialist audience. Competitors are allowed one PowerPoint slide, but no other resources.

An initiative of the Doctoral Studies Working Group, the CG 3MT competition first round took place in April. All CG Universities were invited to participate by submitting the video of the finalist from their own internal competition. 20 PhD candidates (from 20 CG Universities) took part in the first round. The panel was composed by the members of the Doctoral Studies WG, and, in the case of those universities with no representative in the Doctoral Studies WG, the CG Representative was invited to cast the vote on behalf of his/her university.

A total of 21 CG Universities submitted their vote. Voters were requested to assign 3, 2 and 1 point(s) to their preferred top three candidates.

We are happy to announce that the finalists of the first round are (in alphabetical order): Tanvi Butola (University of Goettingen), Maddie Long (University of Edinburgh) and Oisin McCormack (University of Padova). They will compete against each other at the live final to take place during the CG General Assembly at the University of Edinburgh on 9th June 2017.

For further information about the 3MT, please visit:

Contact person at the CG Office: Anna Quici

Back to top